=
Gretna Weddings
Testimonials
Gretna Green & Scottish Castles, the UK's most popular wedding destination

Read what our happy customers have to say about us

 
Gretna Green, Famous Blacksmiths
xxxxx
Our Perfect Day
Mr John Sharp
We got married at the World Famous Blacksmiths on Tuesday 22 July 2014. What a perfect day we had. The weather was absolutely beautiful and the venue was just magical. All of the staff were brilliant. Myself and my wife were nervous and they made us feel totally at ease. Thanks to everyone, including the piper, registrar and photographer for making our day so special!!
Gretna Green, Famous Blacksmiths
xxxxx
excellent wedding venue throughout
mark hirons
excellent arrangement for a wedding venue and the hotel across the road smiths fantastic and staff very good and it was all very romantic and because of this we want to get our little lilly jean christained there ....would highly recomend any one to wed here..
Gretna Green, Famous Blacksmiths
xxxxx
Romantic place to get married
Karen , Paul Cope
We got married on 16th August 2011 after 24years together. Our son gave me away and also stiked the anvil at the end of the ceremony. Everything went smoothly and the staff were fantastic, the flowers were beautiful as are the photos. Can highly recomend to anyone who wishes to be married here.
Gretna Green, Famous Blacksmiths
xxxxx
fantastic place to get married
anita and colin redpath
we got married 15th june 2013 would strongly recommend to anyone thinking of getting married to come here the place is lovely the staff are excellent they couldnt do enough for you make you feel so special and nothing was too much trouble best day of our lives
Auchen Castle
xxxxx
Amazing!
SNAustralia
We cannot begin to describe how amazing the castle is both inside and outside. The castle was able accommodate all of our wedding guests and were very helpful when it came to the fact that a couple of the double rooms were to be occupied by only one person.

So, the grounds of the hotel are beautiful and very fitting for the castle that sits atop. Although the highway is not very far way, this cannot be heard and apart from some power lines in the distance, you would think you were in the highlands with only your thoughts. The Castle itself is very well kept and has all those features that you would expect of something built some time ago. It you are expecting everything to be new then stay away. It does have creaking floorboards and weathered looks outside, but this just makes it even more amazing to stay in. The Castle itself is very easy to find being well signposted off the highway once you take the Moffat exit, all the way to the front door.

The rooms are very comfortable and cozy and we felt that the two nights that we stayed were by far not enough. We stayed in the bridal suite both nights, but as we had booked the whole hotel, we took the chance to see all the other rooms and having done so, we would have been more then happy to stay in any of them, they were all first rate. The inside of the castle is decorated in accordance with the theme and made a wonderful backdrop for the pictures that followed.

As others have said, the showers do have low pressure, but given it is a Castle and not the Ritz, it is a small price to pay for the experience. It did have hot water and we were able to wash, so what more does one need.

The day itself was terrific, from the moment we woke to the late hours of the night that we finished. If we could do it all over again, we would not change a thing. It rained the night before so although we could not hold the ceremony outside, the sitting room made the perfect alternative.

Every wish we had for our wedding, they were only to happy to accommodate, including being able to recommend people from the local area that did not disappoint. We had fireworks, a sword to cut the cake and the castle provides the chance to have an owl delivery your rings ( something that made everyone smile ) to name but a few things. The staff were always happy and on hand and it was not about making money, but always about making the day one for us to remember. When we return to Scotland, we will be sure to stay a night and look forward to remembering the time that all our dreams came true at Auchen Castle.

We thank everyone there from the bottom of our hearts
Auchen Castle
xxxxx
upcoming wedding
gemma
wow!!! that video looks amazing. i cant wait for our wedding here on 22.09.2012!!! so excited
Auchen Castle
No Rating Given
fiona
The castle looks amazing and I feel very excited about this venue looking forward to getting more information together and then going to visit.
Auchen Castle
xxxxx
Wedding May 05/05/2012, Amazing venue, amazing food.
Caroline Wright
We had our wedding at Auchen Castle in May 2012. The venue is fantastic and in a perfect setting. The food was great and thanks to Glen, the day went without any major hitches. All our guests commented on how we had picked the perfect venue. I would like to thank everyone at Auchen Castle for making our day truly special. Would highly recommend for anyones special day.
Auchen Castle
xxxxx
So excited for our wedding at Auchen Castle on 12th April 2012.
Jade
So excited for our wedding at Auchen Castle on 12th April 2012. We both went for a visit and fell in love with this venue. Glen was so helpful and gave us such a warm welcome!
Auchen Castle
xxxxx
wow i am speechless!!
Caroline
Well I am speechless.....what a beautiful wedding that was. We have been struggling to decide where to get married but I think once my hubby to be sees this video we will be booking this castle for our special day xxxxx
Auchen Castle
xxxxx
Best decision for our venue
cdnabroad
Auchen Castle was one of the best decisions my husband and I made for our venue. The staff were extremely helpful when my wedding planner got delayed on the road with a flat tire, and came to the rescue to help set up my room decor in the meantime. Wedding planning and coordination was a breeze. The grounds are absolutely breathtaking, the beds extremely comfortable, the food is delicious, and the service is top-notch. The only downside to a country-side hotel is that the showers could use some water pressure boosting. However, I would recommend to anyone as a wedding destination or a short break!
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Thank you very much gretna wedding bureau
Margo
Thank you very much gretna wedding bureau we had a lovely day! we got married on the 17th June. I loved the linton suite it was very cosy and the grounds of the gretna hall hotel where perfect for photos.
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
pauline &michael collins
we got married sept 2010 at gretna hall blacksmiths shop we had amazing day thanks to every one who was involed in our big day the piper was amazing to we diw it our way xxxxx
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Fantastic day, lovely service
Louise and Jay
We were married on the 26th August 2009 in the Blacksmiths cottage with my parents and our children. I would recommend this to anyone planning a close and personal service. a day we will never forget, we were made to feel the only couple who had ever been married there and the piper was amazing put lumps in our throats and the photos were amazing. Thank you all at Gretna for making our day so special
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Married at 12noon on the 12th March 2010
Mr & Mrs D Williams
We kept our wedding a secret from family until just after our marriage, it was an absolutely fantastic day and everyone was so helpfull. Would recommend Gretna Weddings to anyone who wants a very special day without a lot of hassel.The photographer was brilliant also and then back to gretna hall for a fantastic meal.
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
perfect wedding
rebecca lewington
we got married on 9th october 2009 in the blacksmiths shop. the gretna wedding bureau organised everything for us and the day went without a hitch. the registrar from D&G council was fantastic. the staff at gretna hall were so good, letting us look around the day before the wedding and the day itself was a dream come true. our photos were beautiful. thank you so much for making our day so special, rebecca and andrew lewington, bedfordshire, england
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Colin and JoJo Walley
We got married on 14th December 2009 in the Blacksmiths shop.Although we didnt have the all singing and dancing ceremony gretna wedding bureau did a fantastic job with all the necessary organisation.Very friendly and helpful folks there from the person who greets you to the registrar.I hired a E type jag for the day from a local to Dumfries classic car hirer which topped off the day.Would recommend to anyone who doesnt want a lot of fuss,then you can do what we did and just head to the pub back in Dumfies for a bit of nosebag.Really enjoyed our day, Thank you gretna.Collie and Jojo Walley Redditch,Worcs.
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Thankyou Gretna Wedding Bureau.
Ian and Michaela Mitchell
Thank you to Gretna Wedding Bureau for making our wedding day on 12 April 2014 very special. Special thanks to Pastor Sandy Jamieson for a lovely wedding service and for putting us both at ease. The photographer took some lovely photos which we will always treasure.


The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Ill never forget my wonderful wedding day!
Linda & Steve Fisher
My husband and I married here on 20.01.01 We eloped with 39 members of our families... including 3 grand children! Our 6 year old Grandson was the Best Man. Confused? :) Dont be... this wasnt our first marriage obviously! But believe me... we had THE most wonderful day... in fact the whole weekend was fantastic. It was easy to arrange, and the ceremony itself was beautiful. I felt as special as any young bride... and it truly is..THE best place to get married! I still remember, every single minute of it!!
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
A DAY TO REMEMBER
Julie and Robert Murray
I have never felt more at ease in my life. We got married 23 June 2010. Gretna Wedding Bureau organised our wedding. It was beautiful, just the two of us along with our son Harry (15). We'd been together for 32 years and didn't want a fuss so this was absolutely perfect. Thank you. Thank you also to Rev David Bennett (Church of Scotland) who carried out the marriage ceremony, even involving our son Harry by allowing him to strike the anvil with the hammer and also to Helen and Sandra our Witnesses (provided by Gretna Wedding Bureau). Perfect !!!
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Magical
Jemma and Mark
I would reccomend gretna wedding bureau to anybody. We wanted a 'fuss free' wedding which only our parents and daughters and us were to attend. We told them the dates we required and left them to it. Two days later and everything was arranged! We had a magical time. Thank you all so much
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
No Rating Given
i was married there back in 1966 to sheila brown
e grilli
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
We did it our way!!
Fiona & John Elcoat
We were married in the Blacksmith's Cottage on 9th June 2007 and had the most perfect day ever! My son (who was 10 at the time) was asked to give me away which was the icing on the cake! Everyone involved made our day so special and looked after us as though we were the only bride & groom there. I would recommend Gretna Green Weddings to everyone - whether they wanted to get married or not!!
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
a wonderful day!!!
Gill Hollingdrake
Exceeded our expectations! Only a small party (7) but the whole experience was special. Got married on a Sunday and it was a good move as quieter, We were made to feel special and the registrar Alison made us feel at ease immediately...we cried, we laughed but most of all we made memories... would recommend this venue if you wish to keep it small, personal and informal, a fabulous time, thankyou all so so much... xx
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Our Very Perfect Day
Katy and John Eland
We got married at the Blacksmiths workshop on the 17 December 2011.It was the most perfect wedding day we could have asked for.The ceremony was really magical, (Pastor) Sandy Jamieson who took the service was absolutely fantastic.There was even a christmas tree in the workshop just to make it even more special,and the photographs were brilliant!!!!.Anyone thinking of getting married here, look no further.JUST PERFECT xx
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
No Rating Given
Perfect Day
Hayley & Richard
We were married on 14th August 2009 in the Linton Suite. It was perfect, we had a wedding party of 16 including ourselves and our 2 children and it accommodated us perfectly. The grounds were beautiful so much so that even the rain only made it more bright and fresh and well just perfect. We would recommend a gretna wedding to everyone. It was everything we wanted and more.
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
we are getting married here on 11.11.11
mandi to be gidney
we are getting married here on 11.11.11 and looking forward to this very special day in this very speacial place kevin and Mandi
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
10TH ANNIVERSARY-RETURN TRIP...weather permitting !!!
Linda & Chris Brown.Queensbury.Bradford.west yorkshire
** Sorry for the long story-but it is ten yrs ago **
We're actually sat here at this moment - praying for the snow to stop - so we can get hooked up tomorrow, to set off back to Gretna, to celebtate our 10th wedding Anniversary!!!
We took the caravan to The Braids caravan park in Gretna - 10 yrs ago, and stayed for 1 week. There were 11 of us all together to share our special day. That consisted of me/hubby/son/daughter/mum/stepdaughter/friends. My brother & his wife couldn't make it,due to work commitments, but were constantly on the phone, trying to live the moment with us!
I didn't want a big fuss the second time around, and plus the sad loss of my fantastic Dad - meant that I really couldn't have coped with alot of fuss-and him not being there to give me away again.
We had the children with us in the caravan...the awning was up and decorated-very posh!!
Gretna Hall Blacksmiths was-and still is, a place steeped in history-with lovely surroundings. The people were so friendly and made us feel so-at-ease.
And the weather managed to stay fine for us on our special day too - what more could you ask for???
My 10yr old son,Greg, gave me away, my wonderful Mum was our witness, along with my 'stepdaughter Trina'- who was also my husbands to be 'best man'( sounds confusing doesn't it with 2nd marriages and step-children?), and - last but deffinately not least - our 2yr old daughter Illanya, just danced around the Blacksmiths shop throughout the service !!! It was so relaxed and stress free. Everything was made to feel 'very personal'.
We took photos under the kissing gate -and came outside to the sounds of the piper playing traditional Scottish tunes.
Back at the caravan, it was a lavish meal of pizza/hotdogs.....and CHAMPAGNE !!
The local Florists did us proud. The flowers were out of this world! they catered for our every need,and couldn't do enough for us .
You don't think twice when you're walkng down the street and you pass a bride and groom - or go to the local pub and see Newly Weds sat 'in all their wedding attire', having steak pie and chips!!
Gretna is a place that you can do whatever YOU want to do. There's no hassle - it's a beautiful part of the country, steeped in old traditions.....It's the perfect place for a wedding....... xxx
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Perfect venue for our intimate wedding
Claire & Jamie Hewison
We got married at the blacksmiths cottage on the 25th July 2008, it was the most perfect summer wedding we could have hoped for, the weather couldn't have been better and the venue was just as we wanted. The photo's are something we can be really proud to show and thats something as we dont really like any of the photos we have had taken together, we went back to the Hazeldene for a fantastic meal xx
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
A Day to Remember.
Marlene & John Taylor
We had a wonderful day, we renewed our wedding vows on 04/10/2010 after 50 years of marriage so we were also celebrating our golden wedding anniversary.Gretna wedding Bureau organised Paster Sandy Jamieson to conduct the service and Bless our Wedding Rings, Maurice took all the Photo's they were lovely. The flower basket provided a gold rose posy with crystal centre's Beautiful. Thank you Gordon for all your help.John the Piper was provided by our friends Elma & Robert who also were our witnesses on our very special day. Thank you all so much XXXX
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Steph and Rob
we were married on 24th october 2009, at the blacksmiths workshop, we had the best day and everyone at the wedding bureau were very helpful, the minister that married us - Rev Donald frith was fantastic and all our guest said the ceremony was brilliant.
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Wonderful day
Robert & Helen Mair
We were married on June 21st at the Blacksmiths Shop and it was wonderful, we can't thank everybody enough! Even the rain stopped! This remained a secret from family and friends until after the event as I wanted a fuss free wedding. My now husband had an even bigger surprise as his daughter and her partner agreed to be our witnesses. The registrar and photographer were wonderful and helped to calm any last minute nerves!
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Married on 29th August 2011
Jo & Pete
We got married at the Blacksmiths Workshop this year and it was a fantastic day. There was just 10 of us, but it still felt really special. The Gretna wedding bureau did a wonderful job organising everything and it all went smoothly. From the flowers to the wedding car, photographer and scottish piper it was all perfectly timed. We had our reception at The Gables hotel who again did a fantastic job, nothing was too much trouble. We would both highly recommend anyone who wants a fuss free wedding to arrange it through the wedding bureau. Even our photos were ready to collect the very next day! Thank you to everyone involved.
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Perfect Day!!
Maria and Gavin Parkins
We got married at Gretna Hall Linton Suite on the 6th August 2011. Even though the weather wasn't brilliant, we still had a great day. Pastor Sandy Jamieson married us - couldn't think of anyone better to do it, very friendly and put us at ease as soon as we met him. We had a lot of pics taken indoors (didn't realise there was so many rooms for this) with a few outdoors as well. Would definitely recommend Gretna Hall to anyone thinking of getting married at Gretna!!
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Everyone at the Bureau and Gretna Hall, were amazing!
Helen
We got married at the workshop in Aug 2007, perfect day!! Everyone at Gretna Hall made us feel like we were the only couple getting married there even though there were loads :) Gretna Wedding Bureau also made sure everything and everyone was where they should be when they should be there!! Everyone at the Bureau and Gretna Hall, were amazing! Good Luck, I'm sure you'll have an amazing day there too :)
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Everything I dreamed it would be
Audrey Channing
For 20 October 2009, all we wanted was quiet, but romantic, nothing too fussy, no organisational hassles ..... we couldn't have asked for more! Thankyou for taking care of it all for us - witnesses, registrar and the guys taking the dvd and photographs were great fun! We had a brilliant day!
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Married on the 23rd October 2011
Rob and Rach
Wow :) Our Day was most amazing everthing we was hoping for more I think. Rhona at Gretna Wedding Bureau was really good at keeping me calm and helping with anything we needed to know. We married in Gretna Hall Blacksmiths such a lovely place. And then back to the Solway Lodge hotel for a great Party and a lovely Buffet. Nothing was too much trouble for anybody. Thanks for making our Wedding the Magical day we was hoping for :)
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
I would recomend any1
Katie
I was married on the 20th sept 2008 at the blacksmiths. Its the most unforgettable day of my life. I would recomend any1. Gud luck to everyone gettin married
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Donna & Michael Wood
We were married on 10/10/10. One word would suffice, Beautiful. Heartfelt thanks to you kind Gretna people and to the Reverend McPherson for his moving service. Once more, Thank You All, God bless.
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
un mariage inoubliable
Alain et Stéphanie PAITRE BENITO VENCE France
D'origine celtique, nous sommes venus de FRANCE nous marier en Ecosse le 08 septembre 2004 dans le cadre merveilleux du Cottage forge. Un journée inoubliable et très ensoleillée qui nous a permis de faire d'excellentes photos dans le parc. L'organisation a été parfaite et nous recommandons à tous ceux qui voudraient se marier à Gretna Green qu'ils le fassent sans hésitation. Ensuite voyage de noce dans les Highlands. Amitiés à nos amis Ecossais.
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
GETTING MARRIED ON 11.11.11
ROD & LEEANN
We are getting married here on the 11.11.11. This is a very special place and are realy looking forward to getting married here with our family and close friends.
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Cannot fault a thing - the Perfect Day!!
Sara
We got married on 24th July 2009 at Gretna Hall Blacksmiths Shop - LOVED EVERY MINUTE of it :o) Cannot fault a thing - the Perfect Day!!
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Romantic & Perfect For Us!
Debs & Lee Griffiths
We were married on 20th June 2009 in the Blacksmiths Workshop and did the true Grenta "elopement" wedding - telling no one at all! We arranged it just 4 weeks before and were lucky enough to get the venue, time and date we wanted - fate I'm sure! It was nerve racking (aswell as exciting) to arrange a wedding at somewhere you've never been and to trust on the old Royal Mail, but the Bureau were very helpful and guided us through it all and it was so stress free. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't want the hassle and stress of a "conventional" wedding! As we were on our own, our wedding was just about the two of us and the photos were taken in beautiful grounds. All the people we met or dealt with were so friendly and helpful and our "hired" witnesses (!)were lovely and they, along with the photographer and registrar made us feel very relaxed, at ease and genuinely seemed to be happy for us. It was lovely and romantic to be married somewhere with such history and atmosphere and would recommend it to anyone!
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Jamie & Jan Dunkin
We got married at The Blacksomiths Shop on 26th october 2010 with our children and our two best friends present. Noelene Bourne-May our Registrar was lovely and it was the most perfect day arranged by the bureau the way we wanted, we thoroughly enjoyed our Ceremony and would recommend it to anyone, Thank You. The rain even stopped for the photos too!
The Coachhouse at Gretna Hall
No Rating Given
Lisa
We came to visit Gretna Hall in August 11 and decided yes it still the venue for us, can not wait to get married here next week on the 11.11.11 so excited...... have booked everything myself and nothing is too much trouble when I call the Gretna Hall Hotel!
Lisa & Paul x
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
Breath taking Old Church
Dorothy
Went to visit some of the venues for getting married but by far the most breath taking was the Anvil..It will be perfect for our ceremony.
It will be stunning for our day can't wait to get married there
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
getting married 26th November 2011
Sarah
hi, Is any one getting married on 26th November and celebrating at the mill? I am so excited I cant beleive all the wonderfull reveiews on here,
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
So Lovely
Mrs Martin
We have just been married here 14th Feb and i can say hand on heart this was the most beautiful place to be married that wasnt a church, i had a lovely piper leading the wedding car to the door - then a breath taking walk up to the anvil past 17 friends and family - the registra was lovely,upbeat and genuinely seemed to enjoy doing the service...i would highly recommend Anvil Hall we will be re-newing our vows here.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Stunning
Kate & Joe Francia
We got married at Anvil Hall on 24th July 2012 and it was perfect! We had originally planned to have the "Big White Wedding" in our home town but changed our minds and booked Gretna...the best decision we ever made!! We couldn't of asked for a better place to get married, it was stunning. We didn't know what to expect of a Gretna wedding but if we had the chance to do our wedding again we would do it exactly the same :) I would recommend getting married at Anvil Hall to anyone and what we found to be a nice touch was the web cam, friends and family who couldn't be there were still able to share in the memories. It's really hard to put into words just how much we enjoyed our time in Gretna and our wedding at Anvil Hall, thank you to all those involved :)
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
BEST DAY EVER
JACKIE AND PAUL
we got married on the 22november 2013 it was perfect we got married at 4 oclock The Anvill hall was so romantic with all the candles lit are family and friends loved it we had are reception at the Gretna chase which was fab are family and friends say its best wedding they been to it was the best day ever
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
We had a really memorable day
Heather
We got married at the Anvil Hall, 24th May this year and had our reception at the Gretna Chase Hotel. We stayed the night before and the wedding night along with about 35 guests. The hotel was great, food fantastic, even had a disco which we paid extra for but which made our night. The two DJs were hilarious and very very good. We had a really memorable day and I would advise anyone else who is thinking of it to just go for it!! Good luck!!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
lisa & james
Married 17th March2010.We had been together almost 20yrs, and always wanted to get married but could never afford a big wedding, so decided to please ourselves & do it in secret with our 2 children!( hense not to stress anybody)
What a unique and amazing place it is, would reccommend it to anyone!
If i could do it all again i most certainley would.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
cant stop looking at the fantastic pictures of the hall!!
carole benson
getting married here on 7th of august this year, getting excited! from the moment i saw this venue i fell in love with it!! lauren is friendly and helpful, cant wait to walk down the blue carpet!!!
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
wow i cant wait!!!!!!
suzanne tiffen
all i can think is WOW im getting married here next year and i sooo cant wait makes me teary already
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
FABULOUS
SAM AND MARTYN
WE GOT MARRIED AT THE ANVIL HALL ON THE 17/06/2011 AND CONTINUED OUR STAY AT THE GRETNA CHASE HOTEL WHICH WAS ALSO FABULOUS, THE ANVIL HALL IS STUNNING AND IS EVERYTHING YOU COULD WISH FOR ,FOR A PERFECT DAY, I WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND IT AND WISH WE COULD DO IT ALL AGAIN. FABULOUS DAY THANKS TO THE GRETNA WEDDING BUREAU AND ALL THE STAFF AT THE HOTEL. WE WILL BE RETURNING FOR OUR FIRST ANNIVERSARY AND WE CAN NOT WAIT.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Perfect
Sharon Dunkerley
We where married here on Friday (31/08/12) was the most perfect day ever! Pastor Sandy was very funny and put everyone at ease. Such and emotional day, walking in through the doors into a simply stunning building - i've got goose bumps at the thought. Highly recomended! Love a very happy Mrs D XXX
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
BEST DAY OF MY LIFE
LINDA CARRUTHERS
married 21/6/2013 such a beatiful and special place perfect day thanks to pastor sandy craig the piper and every one at anvil hall for making everything run so smoothly so profesional couldnt of chosen any where more magical
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Getting married at anvil may 21st 2011 ! Can't wait
Kirsty mulholland
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
brill :)))
hayley
only 1 word can descride it and its prefect, got marryed in the anvil hall the 22nd of april, had a magical time, was sad 2 leave, was such a very special time that i will never forget, xx
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Best Day Ever!!!
mrs Hanson
Got married at the Anvil hall on sat 3.3.12 it was the most amazing day ever, the whole experience was amazing, the piper, the car and the hall is beautiful. We were very lucky to have 70 guests join us which made the day even more special!!
I would 100% recommend the anvil hall to anyone, you and your guests will love it!!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
October 2014 our wedding
Wendy
We are getting Married October 3rd 2014, we cant wait, and the staff at the wedding bureau have been fantastic, and very helpful, Anvil Hall here we come x
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
an absolutely perfect place to get married
Julie Ann Elliott
We got married in Anvil Hall in July 2008 and it was such a wonderful day. Anvil hall is beautiful and you get some lovely photos. Everyone had a wonderful day and I couldnt have asked for better.I would recommend Anvil Hall to everyone.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Hey
Thomas McCue
Hey my sister is getting married on the 28th July 2011 am we are all so looking forward too it :D XXX.
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
Perfect!! :-)
Mrs Blunt
Got married here on the 26th july 2011 and it was perfect!! Anvil hall is so much more stunning than in the pictures, didnt want my day to end!
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
Excited!!!
Donna Pringle
My partner and I are getting married at the anvil hall on Sunday 23rd December and are so so exited!! I went to see the anvil hall whilst visiting some family in Newcastle and was blown away how beautiful it was! 5 weeks today and counting!!!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
The most special day for our family
Martin Conlon
It was the best day of my life the day Bernie said she would be Mrs Conlon....and it was fantastic to have our three kids there to witness it along with our family
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
are wedding
sharee and ashley
me and my fiance are getting married at this venue wenesday 22nd september 2011 i think this venue looks well nice and posh and it be so beauitful to get married in and carnt wait to get married excited much ashley copson i love you loads baby xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
my fiance but soon be my husband xxx
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
only 8 week to gooooo whoop x
Sarah
8 weeks to go yahhhh, almost all done, just suits and few last min touches and I will be ready and waiting , has any body stayed in cove estate appartments in gretna?? we are staying there on 25th and 26th November and we cant find any reviews???
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
stunning, stunning stunning
Sarah
Married here on Saturday Morning, It was Magical, the most perfect wedding venue i could have dreamed of, thankyou, xxx
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Perfect place to celebrate your love with family and friends!
Mrs Michelle Wright
Our wedding day was 18/06/2010. We couldnt have been made to feel more special than we were. 100 of our family traveled from Glasgow to witness our perfect day. Would recommend 100% so helpful I felt like the 1st bride to ever get married there and there was one before me and one after me on that day haha!! The memories will last a lifetime Anvil Hall will forever be in our hearts. Cant believe I havent written a review before now I think Im still on cloud 9! Our family keep asking how long we have to wait before doing it all again. What a perfect place xxxx
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
CANT WAIT!!
Rebekah Griffiths
I have my heart set on this venue t get married on the 23rd february 2013, if the dates not available it will be changed!! Am so looking forward to becoming Mrs Hale at Gretna Green next year. I love you Joe for making this happen xxxx
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
stunning
sharon Cutter
absolutly stunning - you cant tell how nice this is from just the pictures - took my breath away. highly recommend it!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Perfect
Melanie Innes
The whole day was perfect!! We got married on 13/04/10 and Anvil Hall was such a lovely venue. The building is stunning and recommend it to anyone. Everything was organized by the wedding bureau, we couldn't have asked for more. Thankyou
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Getting married here on the 3rd June 2012... can't wait!
Sue Foulger
Getting married here on the 3rd June 2012.... only having a small wedding party and the venue looks great.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
TOO EXCITED
Michael & Tracy
We are booking in for April 2012, yet to get conformation on the date we booked as we done it online, but im so excited non the less. Just praying for sun that day! Anything for rain haha. Been with Michael for 3 years and hes the one for me. Never known anyone quite like him,. He is my other half! Im so excited and have kicked tradition aside and am having my two older daughters give me away! They are 8 and 7 and are playing 2 parts, flower girl and giving me away. We also have a little boy together who will b paige boy....but will prob just sit eating a wee biscuit haha. So excited!!!!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
excited :)
kerry
so so excited !!! i have just booked my wedding on the 29th december ...... only 3 months to wait. The Anvil hall looks amazing and very romantic. Just hope the weather is okay aahhhhh xx
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Really recommend this
Kirsty
We got married here on 15th June 2011, and I'm still smiling about it. Amazing venue, everything I ever wanted. We only had a small wedding, 13 of us in total and it was amazing. We had our reception at the Dryfesdale Hotel - beautiful place, the staff were brilliant and the meal was fantastic. The best day of my life, thanks to the Wedding Bureaux, The Anvil Hall and the Dryfesdale. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend any of it !!!!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
perfect!
Elizabeth Jepson
i got married at the anvil hall on 31st october 2009. it was stunning and more than i could have imagined!!! all the people were so lovely and everything went exactly to plan! i wouldnt change a thing it was perfect!
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
Freddie Jones
Having a Civil Partnership on the 18th June 2011 and so looking forward to the event! Have been to see the church and happy with the venue that's why we booked it!!!!!
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
My perfect day
micheal and victoria
We have just booked our wedding for the 3rd november 2011. We are both so excited!!! We went to visit anvil hall last year and had a look and from the moment we saw this place we fell in love with it, and insisted this was our dream place, we are only having a small wedding, which is what we both wanted, Dreams can come true.
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
3 Days To Go
Jacqueline
Only Thurs, Friday and Sat night to go till i get married to the man of my dreams......
Anvil hall is the most romantic place to get married in as the church is so spectacular and full of candles, the colours in the church even match my bridesmaids dressess he he.

Hope the weather stays nice x
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Getting Married 31/03/2013
Sue Owen
We are getting married at Anvil Hall in 7 weeks and so excited, Ive just read all the reviews and just cant wait to be there. Thank you everyone for all your positive comments.
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
Got married here on 30/10/2009
Natalie Lonsdale
Fantastic place to get married in , nice and private so only the people we had invited could come in and see apart from the webcam this is a lovely idea so those that couldnt come got to watch us too !! All the candles add to it making it feel really romantic .
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
perfection
laura fraser
We were married on 30th Sept 2006 and could not have even imagined a better place to be married. Such a beautiful place and the amazing people from the Anvil helped make the day as special as it should be! Myself and my hubby would definately recommend everyone to get married here, we always pop down every year just to look around again it was that perfect.
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
Fantastic
verity jenkins
Me and my husband got married hear on the 27th of may 2011 at anvil hall and it was fantastic the people who sorted it all out for us did everything we asked for the flowers were lovley the bagpiper was amazing and sounded spot on the horse and carrige was magical we stayed at the gables hotel and that was lovley and so close to the venue the poeple were lovley it made our day so much easier and amazing and it was the best day ever for us and wouldnt change a thing anyone who is thinking off getting married hear do it its lovley and will make your day that extra bit spicial :)
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Hitched!!
chrissie
we did it...on the 14th July, was a great day, very small affair but the church is spectacular and the photos and video came out lovely!! would definately recommend it - went over to the blacksmiths after for some more pics and was papped by all the tourists, was very sureal
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
Getting maried here on 20/12/2011
Wendy Harkins
I have just booked my wedding for the 20th December 2011,
so so excited !!
The Anvil hall looks amazing
Kenny Collins I love you loads baby can't wait.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Brackenhill Tower and Cove House, Cove Estate
Sheila Richardson
Following our friend's wedding at Anvil Hall we attended their reception in Brackenhill Tower. Family members stayed over in the Tower and we stayed at in a self catering apartment at Cove Estate. A perfect day was followed by a wedding breakfast at Brackenhill Tower the next morning. Spilling out into the grounds from the Tower and attached Jacobean cottage was simply the icing on the cake.Mr and Mrs Ritchie, the owners of Cove and Brackenhill are friendly, helpful and welcoming and I definately would recommend you contact them to organise your wedding venue. Thank you again for your wonderful hospitality in a beautiful scenic setting. S Richardson
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
What a wonderful day
Angela
We got married on 14th Feb 2013 it was the most wonderful day of my life the day i became Mrs Wood my new husband is the most loving man in the world and i love him so much. Thank you to every one at anvil hall for making out day special especially Sandy the Pastor.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Amazing venue
Elaine & Ben Connolly
This is an gorgeous venue and the photo's don't show how amazing it really is. Me and my husband got married here on the 17th June 2011. We couldn't of picked a better venue, the staff at Anvil Hall where lovely from when I arrived. I would recommend this venue to any one who's looking to get married at Gretna it's such lovely place and it will exceeded your expectation as it did on are big day :-) x
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
just over a year to go!!!
miss beedham
we have just got confirmation of our date and time 13/10/2012 so excited carnt wait fell in love with the photos we r yet to see but no with out a doubt were we wanted to get married sooo excited
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Amazingly Romantic & Magical!
Lois Clacher
The Anvil Hall is beautiful & perfect!! We got married here on the 27th May 2011 and it was the best day of my life all thanks to the amazing people in gretna! Im so happy we picked the Anvil Hall, everyone loved it and with the candles, kissing gate and amazing setting inside, it was the most perfect wedding we could have wished for!!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Magical
Karen
I got married on 04/03/13.. Anvil hall is wonderful. I had the best day of my life when I became Mrs.Atkins.. The hall is beautiful, I want to renew my vows next year, because I felt on cloud nine the whole ceremony. It was simply breath taking....
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Our Wedding
Christine & George Hook
We got married December 10th 2005 at the Anvil Hall. We had the most magical day. The best thing we ever did was making a secret journey to get wed without anyone knowing. The day was perfect.
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
not long now!
chrissie
getting married here next Thursday!! getting very excited, and cant wait, will post how it all goes x
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Amazing!!!
mrs hanson
We got married on 3rd March 2012 at the Anvil Hall, and it was the most perfect day ever!! The piper was there to welcome all our 70 guests! and was there throughout. everyone was so friendly and helpful, it really was the best day of our lives!!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Beautiful
Kirsty
The 05th May 2013 was made extra special with the ceremony at the Anvil Hall, a beautiful church which made you feel very special and took your breath away when you opened the door and walked down the Aisle. A fantastic setting for any marriage.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
So beautiful
Jacqui Sandler
We got married here on 2/10/09. There were only 10 of us but we didnt feel out of place here. It is so beautiful. I had tears in my eyes when we visited the day before. It looks lovely in the photos but is much more beautiful in real life. It is absolutely breathtaking. Everyone was so helpful and helped make my day perfect.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Our Wedding
Christine & George Hook
We got married December 10th 2005 at the Anvil Hall. We had the most magical day. The best thing we ever did was making a secret journey to get wed without anyone knowing. The day was perfect.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Niky
Beautiful place - I'm getting married here 18th August. Stunning inside, has a wonderful atmosphere. The caretaker is a lovely girl too, had a great chat to her when we visited. Can't wait to get married there!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
11 weeks to go whoop
Sarah n Steven
Were getting married at Anvil hall on 26th November , very excited, then off to the mills for meal , does any body know if Anvil hall will allow to play our own music as we decided not to have piper???
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Very excited bride to be!!!
Sarah
Getting married in 5 weeks, I am very excited, Anvil Hall looks beautiful, Hope the weather is ok, Only gonna be a small intimate wedding with 7 adults and 8 children, :O) followed by reception at The Mill, has any body had a small reception at the mill, ??? any feedback would be great, xxxxxx
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
cool
shannon
Hi i am 10 my mum and dad got married there in 2006 on the 15 or the 16 december i was 4 i loved the bride and the groom room the staff was fabulous it was differnt scotthish bag pipes playing while your coming in wondrfull xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
The truely magical place
Emma Greene
I had my religious wedding here 10/5/13 and i have to say it was so stunning and beautiful inside and out! My photos look amazing every one in my wedding party commented on how stunning it was and i was told it was a great choice for my wedding cannot praise the Anvil Halls beauty enough. A fantastic day, in a fantastic venue, and the web cam was great my family and friends back home could watch as i got married a great idea for those who cant make it to the venue. Would highly recommend to get married here the place is magical :))))
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
2nd July 2011
Lisa-Jane
Got married here on the 2nd of July. Just me and my partner, was the best day of my life. we booked a package and didn't have to worry abot a thing all went without a hitch. Flowers, witnesses and photographer all arrived on time and very punctual. Flowers were lovely. Very pleased.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Outstanding beautiful venue
Linsay Hollar
I have just been to my best friend's wedding in the Anvil Hall and Im shocked at how beautiful and romantic it is. The hall is breathtaking! The most beautiful wedding I've been to.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Charasmatic atmosphere
Alan & Alison Dingle
We held our celebration here on the 7th October 2011,this truly amazed all those gathered.It added to a perfect day, we are so pleased that we selected the Anvil Hall we have so many happy memories of such a wonderful wedding we will treasure and value for ever.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
GETTING MARRIED 15TH SEPT 2012
ADELE
kirsty we are gettin married in sept cant wait we also went to dryfesdale hotel was it really nice? so excited we going up next wkend to look around x
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
WOW WHAT A DAY
TRACY AND MICHAEL G
got married 28th april 2012 at noon. perfect venue. MUST get the piper with this venue as it is amazing. felt so nervous walking down th aisle but the vows came out so naturally even though im a shy person. it was a great day. civil ceremony took about an hour inc photos. went in too quick. meal at the solway lodge in which FIONA out done herself taking care of all our requests, and guests!
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
Our Perfect Day
Sarah Beckett
We were married 4th June 2010 Anvil Hall was the best choice I have ever made. I thought the place was breathtaking in the photos I saw online, nothing could prepare me for it in real life. The place is absolutely gorgeous. My photos are beautiful and capture the beauty of the building and my special day. I reccomend the venue to anyone considering marrying in Gretna
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
mandy
got married april 2010. at the anvil hall. after 23 yrs.and told no one except my 3 children. it was lovely it was everything they said it would be and much more. the whole package was worth every penny. it was a lovely place. if i could do it all over again i would.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Stunning Wedding Venue
Devika
Getting married to my wonderful fiance on 23rd september 2011 at the anvil hall. Venue is breathtaking and very romantic, really looking forward to our special day.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Absolutely perfect
Kiera and Chris
We got married here on 5th June 2012, and it was absolutely perfect. Everything was arranged and sorted for us, and we didn't have to worry about a thing on the day! We had a piper (John) walk us and our guests up the aisle. I cannot recommend this venue enough!! It was the happiest day of our lives :) Thank you Gretna Wedding Bureau! xx
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
We are getting married here on 02/08/2013, im so excited.
Laverick/Carr
We are so excited about getting married here, the hall is so beautiful. I am sure the day will be amazing. Looking forward to becoming Mrs Laverick. xx
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Magical!
Joanne and Nick Scoltock
We were married at Anvil Hall on the 9th September 2010, it was just the 2 of us and our baby boy. Everything far exceeded our expectations from the Horse and Carriage to the photographs. Anvil Hall is beautiful and getting married there made it a magical day. We would highly recommend this venue - whether there be 2 or 122 in your wedding party!
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
9.10.11 is my wedding day.
Jacqueline (soon 2 B Stephenson) & Sean
Well I have just put the phone down from booking our wedding day, which is on the Sunday 9.10.11, at Anvil Hall @ Greatna Green!
This day is so special to me & Sean as we met 7 hrs ago to the day and 2 hrs later I went in to labour with our son on the same day, he was born on the 10.10.06.
Everyone says marriages end around the " 7 year hitch" but I say " 7th year is our wedding day"
We have lots of children to previous partners, and loads of family members but this is mine and seans day as every other day is for them so we are going to run away and marry on our own in secret x how romantic x
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
Cannot Wait!!!
Elaine Chalmers
Getting maried here on Valentines Day 2012!! cannot come quick enough! visited a few venues and by far, the Anvil Hall gave us the best 'feeling'!! we have our own song that we are using before and after service but also have a piper to greet us on arrival!! Pray that we are not 6 foot deep in snow in february but it cannot come quick enough!!!x
The Anvil Hall
No Rating Given
Getting married 4 June 2012
Barbara
Getting married here on 4 June 2012 to a wonderful man called Dave. We are both really excited about it and really can't wait until we are man and wife.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Stunning Venue
Barbara and Dave
Got married at Anvil Hall on 4 June 2012. Having never visited the venue before we were a little apprehensive but there was nothing to worry about as it was stunning. We had a fantastic day with 20 close family and friends and had fantastic weather. Our Piper John and Photographer Maurice were both excellent and good fun! One thing we couldn't understand though is why there is a picture of Hillsborough Football Stadium in the toilets (which was brill as we are Sheffield Wednesday fans)!!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Absolutely Beautiful
Sarah-Michelle Harris
We were married 16th/10/09 Anvil Hall was the best choice I have ever made. I thought the place was breathtaking in the photos I saw online, nothing could prepare me for it in real life. The place is absolutely gorgeous. I'd always wanted a grand church wedding, but that wasn't for my fionce. I don't think I could have gotten any closer. My photos are gorgeous and capture the beauty of the building and my special day. I reccomend the venue to anyone considering marrying in Gretna!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Suzanne Blacklaw
My Fiance and I are getting married in the Anvil hall on 8th of June 2012. We came to visit this venue on May this year and just fell in love with it as did our two young daughters. Having viewed other Gretna venues I would say that this is by far the best if you are planning a simply stunning yet traditional wedding I would recomend taking a look you will not be disappointed.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
FANTASTIC FANTASTIC FANTASTIC
NIC
We got married here on the 6th June 2008 and every time I think about the day I can't stop smiling.. The Anvil Hall is breathtaking making you feel like a princess when you walk in. We had a small wedding with 22 in total and continued the best day of my life at the Gretna Chase Hotel which was fantastic too. Thanks to One stop Weddings for making our special day one I will never forget, smiling whist writing this comment... Wish I could do it again!!! obviously with my husband!!
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Wonderful Day! Anvil Hall
KatieThackrah
When we booked our wedding we only had 12 weeks to organise everything! But Wedding Bureau sorted most of it. We chose anvil hall as the pictures looked lovely but in actual fact it is 10 x better in real life! The Hall is so lovely and our registrar was brilliant she made the vows perfect. I cried all way down the aisle when i saw how lovely the hall was! And we did not feel like we had to rush (which i thought we would due to the popularity of Gretna) all in all Anvil Hall was amazing and the whole experience was brilliant and we had a lovely day! We stayed at Gables Hotel and the staff and food was lovely. Will stay there again. Thank you Wedding Bureau and Anvill Hall
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
wedding is booked
Miss Bainbridge soon to be Mrs Nesbitt
We have booked our wedding for 3rd Oct 2014 @ Anvil Hall, so excited and the staff at the Wedding Bureau have been so helpful,roll on next year...............
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Amazing Venue!
Caroline
Married 08/06/2009 Gorgeous venue, really big and grand. Looked lovely with the blue carpet and background and flowers and candles a nice added touch.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Amazing wedding venue
Claire McLeod
I had to look at this venue when a friend told me how beautiful it was when she went to her cousins wedding in the anvil hall. I didn't think it looked much in the pictures or when we pulled up outside. Inside is absolutely stunning, really magical. We viewed lots of other venues and hotels in Dunfries and Ayrshire and this beats them all by far. Can't wait to book our little wedding and get married here :)
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Absoloutely Amazing!
Rebecca and Stuart McGuckian
We got married at The Anvil Hall on the 24/12/2012 and i cant put into words how perfect it was. The Hall is an amazingly beautiful building inside and out and will always be a very treasured part of our day. We arrived in horse and carriage and also had a piper which made the experiance so much more magical. It had a few of our guest in tears, including the bride. We continued our day at The Smiths Hotel and i can honestly say from start to finish it was amazing. Thank you so much Gretna Wedding Bureau for helping to make our day the perfect day it was.
The Anvil Hall
xxxxx
Most amazing place in the world.
Nicki
We had our civil ceremony here on 30/4/13. A truly amazing place. The sun was shining too. A day none of our guests will ever forget.
The Cottage at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Pauline & Colin Jones
We were married in the Blacksmiths Cottage on the 27th August 2009, as we didnt want a fuss it was just the two of us and my cousin and sister in law as witnesses, nobody knew before hand, the day was perfect, everyone was so lovely and the weather was sunny, we would recommend to everyone who don't want a fuss, thank you to everyone
The Cottage at Gretna Hall
xxxxx
Perfect day
Leigh
My husband and I married 28th August 2014 with a few close family and friends. From arranging the wedding up until the wedding day, we received all the help and advice as and when required. All the staff were extremely friendly and professional. We had a perfect day - thankfully the weather was warm and sunny, the service was lovely and the grounds for the photographs were beautiful. A huge thank you to everyone involved!
Gretna Old Parish Church
xxxxx
perfect venue
Diane Judge
married here july 17th 2010, was the most perfect venue, nothing at all i could fault or want to change,even beautiful gardens for the photographs, marriage was performed by the lovely Reverend Haston whom we have met some weeks before our marriage. i would recommend Old Parish Church to anyone definatley the nicest of all the gretna venues .PERFECT
Gretna Old Parish Church
No Rating Given
A perfect day
Michelle Cheshire
My husband and I married here on August 2nd 2010, The Reverend was lovely and set us both at ease, we had a small wedding and it was made so special in a beautiful setting, we are so glad we chose this venue.
Gretna Old Parish Church
xxxxx
Wonderful Church & Perfect Wedding Venue
Maxine & Gary
We got married at Gretna Old Parish Church in September 2010. It was just the two of us (we eloped after 18 years together) and we could not have wanted a more perfect place to be married. A really quaint and pretty church which made us feel special. Reverend Haston was great and did exactly what we asked for. The photo's we had taken both in and outside the church turned out excellent. We have really romantic memories of our marriage that will stay with us forever. We would absolutely recommend getting married here as we believe it is the nicest place by far.
Gretna Old Parish Church
xxxxx
A different place to marry
Joerg Zeyssig
We got married at this venue on 13.8.2010, and although we were small in company (just my wife and I joined by my parents), it was just a perfect day. Apart from all more touristic and public venues to marry at Gretna, the old Parish church gives you a more tranquil and remote spot. Although we had to first plan the ceremony via a telephone call from our home in Germany, Reverend Haston was just well prepared and gave us the chance for a final discussion on the day before. We learned that there is no tradition in the Church of Scotland for a wedding verse chosen by the couple, but thanks to Reverend Haston he just involved it in his sermon. He really is very empathic and really gives you good alternatives on parts of the ceremony. He even copied the long version of the vows on the evening before the wedding, so we were able to say them word by word not understanding every word of an Scottish accent. And we will not forget him knocking at the wall of the registry after the signature procedure giving a sign to the organ player to come to his last musical crescendo.
Thanks for all hospitality received and making this day unforgetable
Comlongon Castle
xxxxx
Magical Venue in the Snow!
Dave Toulson
The coldest December in over 120 years but brilliant blue skies and not a breath of wind on 20th December 2010. The Great Hall is a superb venue which we will never forget. I would strongly recommend the piper who was brilliant. I only wish we could have spent more time there, but there are always anniversaries!
Comlongon Castle
xxxxx
Absolutely Stunning
Leah (Schutte) Paish
My husband and I both fell in love with Comlongon Castle on our wedding day. It exudes warmth, romance, beauty, and of course a rich history. Our ceremony here was amazing, and the grounds provided a beautiful backdrop for photos. We would both recommend this venue for anyone struggling with the decision. Cheers!
Comlongon Castle
xxxxx
wedding 12th march 2011
nikki roberts
had our wedding day 11 march 2011. it was perfect! gretna wedding planners where amazing. all had a fab day will live with us all..thank you all so much xx
Comlongon Castle
xxxxx
such a lovley romantic venue. Could not have wished for better.
susan pay
Had an amazing wedding day at this venue, with the piper and horse and carrige, lovley with the candles and the beutifull grounds. looking forward to going back to visit sonetime soon.
Comlongon Castle
xxxxx
Beautiful setting
Hugh doran
Got married here 3rd April 2012
WOW. Had an amazing day, wish we could go back and do it all over again.
Beautiful location and beautiful setting.
STUNNING
Comlongon Castle
xxxxx
Amazing experience!
Mr & Mrs Lawson
We were married at Comlongon Castle on the 10th June 2010. The ceremony room is beautiful, decorated with flags, amour & swords, candles & a roaring fire. It was a very intimate & romantic setting. The grounds are stunning & we have some wonderful photos. We were so glad we chose this location as it far exceeded all our expectations. We can't wait to go back & visit.
Comlongon Castle
xxxxx
Wendy Bone
went to visit comlongon and was taken back by the romantic feel and warmth by the grand open fire and candles and the beutiful gardens, can't wait till April when i get married their.
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
Beautiful Venue
Vicki and John Archer
Married in June 2009, We had a fantastic day the weather was perfect to marry outside! better for the small intimate wedding we had around 25 which was perfect, you will have tourist wandering around but we thought that added to the memories. Try and visit the castle before or after the wedding because the ceremony goes very quick, a revisit shows how stunning the venue actually is!
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
Beautiful Wedding Venue,Different From All Others.
Gemma & Paul McCredie
We had the most amazing wedding,this is a beautiful venue.We got married on the 5th november 2011 and it was really sunny which made it even better.Family commented how different the wedding was compared to the other weddings they have been to.We would recommend this venue to anyone who doesnt want a traditional wedding.We would like to thank the minister david baston the bagpiper gilly and the driver and photographer who were all amazing and made the day extra special.And if anyone needs a place to stay i would recommend the Hetland Hall Hotel which suites the venue.We couldn't of asked for a better day.Thankyou all.
Caerlaverock Castle
No Rating Given
Brilliant venue
Rebecca Kerr
Married here in September 2009. Weather was wonderful and the venue very romantic. Photos came out brilliant even with the tourists around. Highly recommended.
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
Amazing! Fairy Tale wedding perfect in every way.
claire smeaton
Absolutely stunning!!! We had our wedding here on 23rd July 2011, the sun was shining and the venue is magical. We had the horse and carridge too which made it even more special. Everyone can't stop talking about our day which is lovely. We was lucky enough to be married right at the back against the moat, fantastic photo's by Alister and Lynn can't wait for the album. We highly reccomed this venue it's amazing and in my oppinion one of Scotlands best!Perfect wedding location i wouldn't change a thing!
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
time of our lives!!!
tonya harrison
We had a humanist wedding here in June 2010. The day was fantastic. The weather a treat with all guests being sunburnt and the photos are like no other. Truly amazing wedding made all the more so by such a fantastic venue. I would recommend it to anyone. We had a PA system set up, singers and champagne served within the castle grounds after the wedding whilst the formal photos were being completed and couldnt have wished for anything better.
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
11/11/11 BEST DAY OF OUR LIVES,CAERLAVEROCK CASTLE 4 EVA
Heidi Maker-Forbes
11/11/11 The best day of our lives,Caerlaverock is stunning what more can i say...the scenery is so beautiful i really did feel like a princess,the weather was cold but it did not rain otherwise this might have been a problem? we had a horse and carriage,a piper,and we had some doves all these little touches made a big difference and was perfect for my small wedding.There was not a dry eye in carlaverock castle my husband,my self,our 10 yr old son and my guests were crying,and the locals came by the castle to wish us luck and waved good bye as we were leaving the castle in our horse and carriage.I would really recommend Caerlaverock Catle it will always hold a special place in my heart,and me and my husband plan to come back for a visit for our anniversary next year. (Heidi & Ben Maker-Forbes,from Llandudno North Wales)
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
Very romantic and intimate venue
Dianne and Joseph
We married at Caelaverock Castle in August 2009..in the kitchen no less!!
Lovely venue, with lots of beautiful photo opportunties in the grounds, really picturesque..probably more appropriate for the smaller wedding party.
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
our wedding day
maisie long
We got married at this castle on 8th august 2009 it was brillilent day we had been a few times befor booking our wedding to see it and it allways had a good feel to it . And been back a few times after our wedding .it really was a good place to get marred .and to make our day the sun was shining
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
Wouldn't have changed a thing.
Melissa Forster
We decided to have our wedding ceremony here after seeing pictures of the venue on the web. We knew that it was beautiful, but nothing could have prepared us for seeing it for ourselves. We travelled up the day before just to check where the castle was and the man at the ticket desk (Stanley) was very helpful and made us feel incredibly welcome. We were very lucky on the day as it was very mild for December and it didn't rain. The pastor was excellent and the venue allowed people the freedom to stand wherever they wanted during the ceremony. Everyone commented how beautiful a setting it was. I would recommend it for anyone wanting a truly romantic day.
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
A Fairy Tale Setting
Heather Bjergfelt
We got married here in November 2010 (that's me with the tartan shawl!) and it was fabulous. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Our wedding was very small but beautifully done and the photographer was outstanding. We are so pleased with the finished album. We couldn't have asked for a better day or a more beautiful venue.
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
Great Venue if weather is goof
T
We married here in August 2009 was beautiful & stunning on photo's although was very cold & hardly any shelter so please keep in mind with UK weather. Would recommend but if it had of rained would of defiantly ruined the day
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
Romantic and cosy wedding for two
rachael townsend
Married here in September 2010, was just me, hubby to be and my two westie dogs! Weather was mixed and did rain but this didn't spoil our day! Although the caslte doesn't have a roof there are some sheltered bits which turned out to be lovely photo opportunities! Had some lovely photos taken by the photographer Alister and Lynn and our family and friends commented on how unique and romantic the venue looked on the photos when we arrived home and annouced our secret wedding! Would highly recommend the venue, we had been before the wedding and are definately going to go back next yr !
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
Perfect wedding location whatever the weather
Julie Riding
Absolutely stunning location, we married here on 11th September 2011, the weather was dreadful, rain and very windy, but that did not detract from the beauty of the place or our wedding. We would highly recommend this venue it truly is a magical place and perfect for that extra special wedding location.
Caerlaverock Castle
xxxxx
Perfect wedding location whatever the weather
Julie Riding
Absolutely stunning location, we married here on 11th September 2011, the weather was dreadful, rain and very windy, but that did not detract from the beauty of the place or our wedding. We would highly recommend this venue it truly is a magical place and perfect for that extra special wedding location.